About Limitations

I want to share something I have been thinking about. It relates to limitations and expectations and, yes, my Rett Syndrome. Allow me to elaborate with this story.

Recently I was asked by a friend to participate in a Rett event by using my actual speaking voice to read a script. While I do have some very minimal phrases and words I can say, and am working towards more all the time, I knew that this script of several sentences would be no match for my apraxia. But something told me not to say “no” right away. Something made me want to at least try. Something within my most hopeful place thought, “maybe, this will make something click. Maybe the stars will align and Mercury will be in retrograde, the wind will change, and the correct words will come spilling out of my mouth.” And can you believe what happened?

It didn’t work. I tried with my amazing speech therapist to tackle the new phrases and I completely froze up. We tried again but still no words came. In the end, I wrote to my friend and told him that unfortunately, this task at hand was considerably beyond my current speech abilities.

You know what, the outcome would have been the same if I hadn’t tried at all, and you might be thinking that I could have avoided some discouragement and frustration and the feeling of having failed. The difference is that by not trying at all, I would be telling myself that I couldn’t do it so why bother. However, a failed attempt is still an attempt and that feels so much better than limiting yourself.

I believe I will speak with ease one day, however much hard work it takes. And I know I will not be fearful to shout out a confident, “let’s go for it!” when new opportunities come my way.

inspirational-quote-circumstances-perspective (1)

3 thoughts on “About Limitations

  1. Gaby,

    You continue to amaze…how awesome you are to take on such a task. To me, this is like someone who is wheelchair bound deciding that they will one day just decide to try and walk!!!

    You are an inspiration to us all to just be better. Better people, better citizens, better wards of this world around us and the people in it. I hope you realize just how very special you are and how very special this world is with you in it.

    Thank you, for sharing with us.

    Much love and respect,
    Jennifer J

  2. I am happy to read your blog once more. I read with interest about your attempts at speech and can only imagine how frustrating it must be for you and how hard your are working to overcome your limitations. I too am optimistic about you achieving your goals to speak with ease someday. In the meantime, I enjoy learning about your thoughts and your ( large and small) everyday successes. I continue to admire your incredible strength and courage and thank you for sharing.

  3. You are an inspiration to us all dear Gaby. It is the message that matters and yours is brilliant, insightful and so very true. I love you, respect you and admire you. Love,
    Susan

Leave a Reply

